Marriage Requirements in the USA

General Marriage Requirements in the USA

Article created: 12-01-2009

The following guide is designed to help you with basic information concerning marriage requirements in each state. We have tried to make this guide as accurate as possible although laws constantly change. Please contact the State Health Department Division of Vital Records or the County Clerk in each state for the most complete up to date information on getting married in their state.

Fact* There are over 2,300,000 weddings annually in the United States.

State Length of time between application date and when license is received Wait between receiving license and marriage date Blood test required License expiration

Alabama

None

No wait

No

30 days

Alaska

3 days

No wait

No

3 months

Arizona

None

No wait

No

1 year

Arkansas

None

No wait

No

None

California

None

No wait

No

90 days

Colorado

None

No wait

No

30 days

Connecticut

None

No wait

Yes

65 days

Delaware

None

24 to 96 hours

No

30 days

DC

3 days

No wait

Yes

None

Florida

3 days

No wait

No

60 days

Georgia

None

No wait

Yes

None

Hawaii

None

No wait

No

30 days

Idaho

None

No wait

No

None

Illinois

None

1 day

No

60 days

Indiana

None

No wait

Yes

60 days

Iowa

3 days

No wait

No

None

Kansas

3 days

No wait

No

6 months

Kentucky

None

No wait

No

30 days

Louisiana

None

3 days

Yes

30 days

Maine

None

No wait

No

90 days

Maryland

None

2 days

No

6 months

Massachusetts

3 days

No wait

No

60 days

Michigan

3 days

No wait

No

33 days

Minnesota

5 days

No wait

No

6 months

Mississippi

3 days

No wait

Yes

None

Missouri

3 days

No wait

No

None

Montana

None

No wait

Yes

180 days

Nebraska

None

No wait

No

1 year

Nevada

None

No wait

No

1 year

New Hampshire

3 days

No wait

No

90 days

New Jersey

72 hours

No wait

No

30 days

New Mexico

None

No wait

No

None

New York

None

24 hours

No

60 days

North Carolina

None

No wait

No

60 days

North Dakota

None

No wait

No

60 days

Ohio

5 days

No wait

No

60 days

Oklahoma

Up to 72 hours

No wait

Yes

30 days

Oregon

3 days

No wait

No

60 days

Pennsylvania

3 days

No wait

No

60 days

Rhode Island

None

No wait

No

3 months

South Carolina

24 hours

No wait

No

None

South Dakota

None

No wait

No

20 days

Tennessee

Up to 3 days

No wait

No

30 days

Texas

None

72 hours

No

31 days

Utah

None

No wait

No

30 days

Vermont

None

No wait

No

60 days

Virginia

None

No wait

No

60 days

Washington

Up to 3 days

No wait

No

60 days

West Virginia

None

No wait

No

60 days

Wisconsin

5 days

No wait

No

30 days

Wyoming

None

No wait

No

None

WeddingUSA is not liable for any error or omission concerning our Marriage Requirement Chart. We do not take responsibility for any loss or consequence arising from the use of this chart.